The Rock Mill Covered Bridge, on State Route 41 at Rock Mill, Ohio, in Bloom Township, Fairfield County, Ohio, is a Queen Post truss bridge. It is a single-span wooden covered bridge spanning a deep gorge of the Hocking River.
The original bridge was built in 1849 and was known as Loveland Mill Bridge, owned by Joseph Loveland and Hezekiah Smith. It was on a route where men brought goods from Detroit. A second bridge replaced the first in 1880. No history has been found.
The current bridge was built in 1901 by Jacob R. “Blue Jeans” Brandt (1836-1911). Brandt was born in Greenfield Township in Fairfield County. In 1858, he began working as a building planner for Fairfield County Commissioners. His works include churches, schools, and bridges. He built the Mink Hollow Covered Bridge and is thought to have been the builder of the Hartman No. 2 Covered Bridge. He also built the McLeery Bridge, a bridge near Loucks Mill, and the Peter Ety Bridge. His last bridge was the Rock Mill Covered Bridge, for which he was paid $575.00. The Rock Mill Bridge was one of the last bridges in Fairfield County to carry vehicular traffic.
This 37-foot bridge's position next to the 1824-built Rock Mill grist mill makes this the shortest bridge in the county, and one of the more iconic locations in Fairfield County.
Rock Mill Bridge was listed in the National Register of Historic Places on April 26, 1976.
Located at: N39 44.950 W82 42.801 - WGCB #35-23-48
Photographed in May of 2022
Photos by Millard Farmer